School of Nursing Faculty Research Areas

Dr. Willie Mae Abel, PhD, wmabel@uncc.edu, Critical Care

Dr. Dee Baldwin, PhD dbaldwi5@uncc.edu, African-American women's health

Dr. Allison Burfield, PhD,  aburfiel@uncc.edu,  Care outcomes of the older adult, pharmacotherapeutics, mental health

Dr. Maren Coffman, PhD, mjcoffma@uncc.edu, Latino health, type 2 diabetes, health literacy, access to health care

Dr. Judy Cornelius, PhD, jbcornel@uncc.edu, HIV Prevention in minority populations and women, telemetry, adult health

Dr. Christine Elnitsky, PhD, celnitsk@uncc.edu,  Healthcare administration, healthcare quality, health systems for veteran reintegration

Dr. Betsy Herron, PhD, eherron1@uncc.edu, Cardiac care, cardiac rehabilitation, simulation, nursing education

Dr. Brian Jefferson, DNP, bkjeffer@uncc.edu, Acute care, hospital-based healthcare cost

Dr. Kathy Jordan, DNP, ksjorda1@uncc.edu, Pediatrics, child maltreatment, pediatric emergency, emergency care, forensic emergency medicine

Dr. David Langford, PhD, drlangfo@uncc.edu, Community health, domestic violence, safety planning, bullying in schools, qualitative research

Dr. Karen Lucisano, PhD, karen.lucisano@carolinashealthcare.org, Nurse anesthesia

Dr. Susan Lynch, PhD, slynch16@uncc.edu, Compassion, fatigue, hospice, family caregivers

Dr. Donna Kazemi, PhD, dkazemi@uncc.edu, Health promotion and education, tobacco and drug abuse prevention and treatment

Dr. Susan Kennerly, PhD, skenner2@uncc.edu, Nursing culture, repositioning of older adults for pressure ulcer prevention in nursing homes

Dr. Jane Neese, PhD, jbneese@uncc.edu, Healthcare delivery outcomes, psychometric properties of instruments

Dr. Kelly Powers, PhD, kpower15@uncc.edu, Medical-surgical nursing, critical care, emergency care, family centered care, nursing education

Dr. Marie Thomas, PhD, mthom160@uncc.edu, Family health, simulation and education

Dr. Lucille Travis, PhD, ltravis1@uncc.edu, Nursing informatics, cardiac care, quality of life, transtelephonic monitoring, outpatient delivery

Dr. Meredith Troutman, PhD, meredithtroutman@uncc.edu, Healthy aging, health promotion of older adults, physical activity in older adults, arthritis management, psychiatric and mental health, family theory, health policy

Dr. Charlene Whittaker-Brown, DNP, cdwhitak@uncc.edu, Cardiovascular health, quality of life in adult populations

Dr. Stephanie Woods, PhD,  swoods16@uncc.edu, Physiologic, Immunologic, and Psychosocial consequences for women experiencing violence and trauma